Aaron Wynne | Role as Councillor

As well as being the elected member for the Crwst ward, Aaron has other roles on the Council.

xxxxx  In his role as a Councillor he is a member of the following committees within the County Borough Council;

The Full Council:
The Council Meeting sets the overall budget and policy framework and is a focus for debate about the performance of the Cabinet (“the Executive”).
There are three types of Council meeting:
·     The Annual Meetings
·     Ordinary Meetings
·     Extraordinary Meetings
All 59 Conwy Councillors are members of the Full Council.

The Audit & Governance Committee:
By law, some Council decisions cannot be taken by Cabinet. Therefore, in addition to the Cabinet and Scrutiny Committees, the Council also has a number of Regulatory Committees: The Audit and Governance Committee, the Statutory and General Licensing Committees and the Planning Committee.
The Regulatory Committees also advise the Cabinet on any resource or organisational issue which may arise from the exercise of their functions.
The Audit and Governance Committee comprises of 17 members in total, 15 of which will be elected Members, plus 2 lay members.  The membership of the Audit and Governance Committee will be appointed by Council, but the committee itself will appoint the Chair.
Its main functions include:
  • The review, scrutiny and issuing of reports and recommendations in relation to the authority's financial affairs and on the appropriateness of the authority's risk management, internal control and corporate governance arrangements. 
  • Overseeing the authority's audit arrangements and reviewing its financial statements

Democratic Services Committee:

The purpose of this committee is;
  • To carry out the Local Authority’s function of designating the Head of Democratic Services.
  • Keep under review the provision of staff, accommodation and other resources made available to the Head of Democratic Services, in order to ensure that it is adequate for the responsibilities of the post.
  • Make reports, at least annually, to the Council in relation to these matters.
  • The Democratic Services Committee can appoint its own sub committees and delegate functions to them.
  • To consider and be consulted upon proposed amendments to the Council’s Constitution prior to consideration by Council
12 Members, which must consist solely of councillors and cannot include more than one member of the Executive (Cabinet), who must not be the Leader.
The Council must appoint the chair of the Democratic Services Committee, who must not be a member of any political groups represented on the Executive (Cabinet) and all members of the DSC.

Appointments to outside bodies:

  • Dyffryn Conwy Leisure Centre Management Committee
  • Ysgol Bro Gwydir (Llywodraethwr AALI / LEA Governor)
  • Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy (Llywodraethwr AALI / LEA Governor)