Add your name 👇

Dear Mark Drakeford,

In the words of UK Labour Leader, Keir Starmer, “across the last twenty-four hours, we have heard heart-breaking stories and the scale of the injustice caused by the fatally flawed results system has become clear. Young people right across the country, in every town and city, feel let down and betrayed.”

His views have been echoed by the interim leader of the Liberal Democrats, Ed Davey who said that the system has led to “some utterly unfair outcomes.”

Both were referencing the downgrading of results in England where 40% of A level results were lower than predicted.

In Wales, 42% of results were downgraded, leaving pupils angry that they have suffered at the hands of a flawed system.

If the criticism from your parties in England is to mean anything other than political game-playing, you and the Education Minister must now reassess your approach as a Welsh Government to ensure that no pupil is disadvantaged in what has already been an anxious year.

Pupils who were awarded lesser grades than the teacher assessments in A level and AS exams should be upgraded to the teacher assessment grades.

Further, this should be used as the mechanism for awarding GSCE results and this should be communicated to learners today for peace of mind.

In these extraordinary times, we must be ready to respond with unprecedented action in the interest of fairness and pupil welfare.

I am copying this to the Education Minister and to your UK Party leaders who have made these comments.

Yours sincerely,

Aaron Wynne


Who's signing

Faye Thompson
Eldyne Cooper
Iona Williams
Caroline Bettley
Mari Lederle
Lee Thornhill
Heulwen Laing
Alison Smith
Nia Roberts
Nigel Thomas’s
Ceri Leeder
Sylvia Painter
Iola Parry
Nia Bibby
Jonathan Powell
Nerys Thomas
Delyth Wyn Williams
sarah helsby
Wyn Jones
Mair Baker
Iwan Kellett
Paula Thomas
Andrew Roberts
Lee Kennedy
Sheree Evans
Carwen Williams
Jon Richmond
Huw Williams
Sian Messamah
Leanne Roberts
94 signatures

Will you sign?

Showing 81 reactions

  • Faye Thompson
    signed 2020-08-16 10:05:44 +0100
  • Eldyne Cooper
    signed 2020-08-16 09:06:58 +0100
  • Iona Williams
    signed 2020-08-16 08:11:48 +0100
  • Caroline Bettley
    signed 2020-08-16 07:09:55 +0100
  • Mari Lederle
    signed 2020-08-16 00:11:38 +0100
  • Lee Thornhill
    signed 2020-08-15 23:52:33 +0100
  • Heulwen Laing
    signed 2020-08-15 22:46:25 +0100
  • Alison Smith
    signed 2020-08-15 22:02:02 +0100
  • Nia Roberts
    signed 2020-08-15 20:52:21 +0100
  • Nigel Thomas’s
    signed 2020-08-15 19:59:23 +0100
  • Ceri Leeder
    signed 2020-08-15 18:33:51 +0100
  • Sylvia Painter
    signed 2020-08-15 18:04:38 +0100
  • Iola Parry
    signed via 2020-08-15 17:36:24 +0100
  • Nia Bibby
    signed 2020-08-15 14:09:42 +0100
  • Jonathan Powell
    signed 2020-08-15 13:11:05 +0100
    I was downgraded from A*A*A*AA to ABBBB. How can the Education Minister justify this?
  • Nerys Thomas
    signed 2020-08-15 13:09:33 +0100
  • Delyth Wyn Williams
    signed 2020-08-15 13:04:53 +0100
  • sarah helsby
    signed 2020-08-15 12:58:35 +0100
    i was downgraded from a B to a C and a C to a D
  • Wyn Jones
    signed 2020-08-15 11:47:43 +0100
  • Mair Baker
    signed 2020-08-15 10:52:01 +0100
  • Iwan Kellett
    signed 2020-08-15 10:25:07 +0100
  • Paula Thomas
    signed 2020-08-15 10:09:22 +0100
  • Andrew Roberts
    signed 2020-08-15 10:04:26 +0100
  • Lee Kennedy
    signed 2020-08-15 09:33:59 +0100
    I fear for my son who has worked damn hard on his GCSE work if that isn’t being taken into account which judging by the debacle that the A levels has shown it isn’t is utterly shameful.
  • Sheree Evans
    signed 2020-08-15 09:20:13 +0100
  • Carwen Williams
    signed 2020-08-15 08:59:45 +0100
  • Jon Richmond
    signed 2020-08-15 07:07:10 +0100
  • Huw Williams
    signed 2020-08-15 06:45:56 +0100
  • Sian Messamah
    signed 2020-08-15 01:35:07 +0100
  • Leanne Roberts
    signed 2020-08-15 01:01:09 +0100

Join the campaign!

Plaid Cymru and Aaron Wynne are within 750 votes of beating the Tories and winning Aberconwy. Join the campaign below: